skip to content

Statewide Pro Bono Opportunities

Each Legal Aid Services of Oregon office coordinates pro bono opportunities in the communities they serve. If you are an attorney interested in volunteering with LASO, please discuss opportunities with the applicable contact listed. These pro bono programs are OSB-certified pro bono programs, offering free PLF coverage to pro bono practitioners.

Benton and Linn Counties
Legal Aid Services of Oregon – Albany Regional Office
433 Fourth Ave. SW
Albany, OR 97321
Contact:  Mitzi Naucler   (541) 926-8678   mitzi.naucler@lasoregon.org

Crook, Jefferson and Deschutes Counties
Legal Aid Services of Oregon - Central Oregon Regional Office
20360 Empire Avenue, Suite B
Bend, OR 97701
Contact:  Andrea Malone (541) 385-6944  andrea.malone@lasoregon.org

Douglas County
Legal Aid Services of Oregon - Roseburg Office
700 SE Kane Street
Roseburg, OR 97470
Contact:  Joan-Marie Michelsen (541) 673-1181 

Farmworker (statewide)
Legal Aid Services of Oregon – Farmworker Program
397 N. 1st Street
Woodburn, OR 97071
Contact:  Laurie Hoefer  (503) 981-5291  laurie.hoefer@lasoregon.org

Gilliam, Morrow, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa and Wheeler Counties
Legal Aid Services of Oregon – Pendleton Regional Office
365 S.E. 3rd Street
P.O. Box 1327
Pendleton, OR 97801
Contact:  Arron Guevara  (541) 276-6685  arron.guevara@lasoregon.org

Klamath and Lake Counties
Legal Aid Services of Oregon – Klamath Falls Regional Office
832 Klamath Avenue
Klamath Falls, OR 97601
Contact:  Drew Hartnett  (541) 273-0533  drew.harnett@lasoregon.org

Lincoln County
Legal Aid Services of Oregon – Lincoln County Office
304 SW Coast Highway
Newport, OR 97365
Contact:  Blair Bobier  (541) 265-5305 blair.bobier@lasoregon.org

Marion and Polk Counties
Legal Aid Services of Oregon – Salem Regional Office
105 High Street SE
Salem, OR 97301
Contact:  Angelica Vega (503) 581-5265 angelica.vega@lasoregon.org

Native American (statewide)
Legal Aid Services of Oregon – Native American Program
4531 SE Belmont St., Suite 201
Portland, OR  97215
Contact:  Fabio Apolito (503) 223-9483 fabio.apolito@lasoregon.org

Multnomah, Clackamas, Hood River, Sherman and Wasco Counties
Legal Aid Services of Oregon - Portland Regional Office
520 SW Sixth Avenue, Suite 700
Contact:  Jill Mallery or Erin White (503) 224-4086  probono@lasoregon.org

The Portland Regional Office coordinates or collaborates in several pro bono projects including the Bankruptcy Clinic, Clackamas County Bar Association Legal Aid Clinic, Domestic Violence Project,  Legal Aid Night Clinic, Pro Se Assistance Project, and Senior Law Project.  See Portland Metro Pro Bono Opportunities below for more information.

Statewide Tax Clinic
Legal Aid Services of Oregon - Portland Regional Office
520 SW Sixth Avenue, Suite 700
Portland, OR 97204
Contact:  Sarah Lora (503) 224-4086 taxteam@lasoregon.org

The Statewide Low Income Taxpayer Clinic provides advice and representation to low income clients who have a tax controversy with the IRS or the Department of Revenue. Pro bono tax cases are referred through a listserv where basic case information is posted.  An attorney interested in taking the case responds to the email and conflict checking information is provided. Cases cover a range of state and federal personal income tax issues including collections, examinations (audits), innocent spouse claims, and tax court cases. Volunteer opportunities are also available for recent graduates and new members of the Bar.